top of page
  • Writer's pictureCade

Cade's Backlog Diaries #1: The Journey Begins

As a self-proclaimed video game critic/content analyst, I do a lot to constantly be aware of the latest happenings in the interactive entertainment industry. Continuously watching the latest trailers, previews, and demos while reading video game news from a variety of websites is part of my daily routine. I'll even watch lengthy gameplay commentaries for titles that don't really appeal to me so that I can know as much as I possibly can about everything. No, I don't think this is an unreasonable goal.


Due to this ravenous gaming news appetite of mine, I, naturally, feel compelled to play as many of the latest releases myself as well. I wouldn't be an effective critic/content analyst if I didn't know what was current in the world of game design after all. Personally, my interest lies exclusively in the realm of console gaming. So, through some reckless purchasing and wonderful gifts, I have an enormous collection of games across the Xbox Series X, PlayStation 5, and Nintendo Switch. If younger Cade knew he'd one day have as much gaming gear as I do now, he'd probably break down in tears because he was an overdramatic child.


Thanks to the title of this article, you can probably already guess what the true problem with my bloated gaming library is. In my endless pursuit to play every game that catches my eye, I've forgotten to finish every game that catches my eye. Do I play each game that comes into my possession? Oh, for sure! Enough to come to grips with its mechanics, gameplay loop, and general aesthetics, definitely! Then, I'll dip back into the game I was working on completing before the new one came along, and my backlog of neglected titles continues to grow. It's not too big right now. I mean...pff! The list I put together of games that need completing was only um. . . *ahem* 50 games big when I tallied them the other day.

Tribute Games' "Panzer Paladin" lets you pilot a mech and fight a dragon. Why on earth did I ignore it for so long?

However! I have decided to fix this! After all, keeping up with releases is all well and good for critiquing/content analyzing but actually finishing the games would surely be helpful as well. To hold myself more accountable in my backlog-clearing journey, this article marks the first of (hopefully) several where I'll be cataloguing my progress in an almost journal-like way. Or a blog, I guess.


Since I compiled my list of 50 unfinished games, I've already completed two! So woohoo for me! Hopping right along! Those two being 2022's Mario + Rabbids: Sparks of Hope and 2020's Panzer Paladin. In finishing both of these games, I've already realized a problem that this backlog blitz is opening my eyes to: I should definitely be finishing games when I start playing them. According to my Mario + Rabbids save file, I'd completed 64% of the game before I set it down to forget about it for six months. Which was extra foolish because the latter half of that game has some of the best stuff in it! I can't believe all of those fun battles, wonderful music, and gorgeous visuals were hidden from me by my own easily distracted brain!


Similarly, Panzer Paladin, which I obtained thanks to a killer deal and a random whim, should have been beaten in one sitting right as I got it. It's easily the greatest modern retro game since the fantastic Shovel Knight of 2014, and it's got some completely unique gameplay ideas. Not to mention it's essentially Titanfall as a 2D platformer which makes it a soup of everything I love.


With two games down, I'm excited to keep going. While I definitely hope to complete games more quickly as I get them in the future, it's kind of fun to rediscover how much I enjoy a game as I revisit it. Hopefully, this little backlog journey will also help to curb my enthusiasm for buying the latest releases and make me a tad more responsible. The next game on my list is . . . oh wait Redfall releases today. Well, that's coming to Game Pass so I've got to check it out a bit at least an—hold on. Ravenlok comes to Game Pass on May 4. . . ok, we'll just peek at that one and then jump back onto the bac—OH MAN The Legend of Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom is next week! May 12! Okay, well that's different I've got to make sure I play th—SWEET TOLITO have you guys seen this gameplay trailer for Armored Core VI: Fires of Rubicon!? I think I'm going to die of excitement, I mean come on it's looking incredible!







bottom of page